Writer’s Thoughts

I used to run in high school. Not for competition or sports or anything, but just for fun.

A cross-country runner I knew told me the trick (for them) was to “find and hit that perfect stride.” I had no idea what that meant, until I ran further than a few blocks for the first time. In layman’s English, it’s called pacing. Why they didn’t just say that I’ll never know, lol! But I know that once I found and hit my perfect stride, I was good to go and could run just about any distance I set my mind to.

And I’ve discovered that same principle applies to writing.

The past few weeks have been chaotic in my writer’s world. I’ve had trouble collecting my thoughts, and then I had trouble making sense of my thoughts once they were organized. Thousands of words have been written and deleted. I’ve cringed and grimaced and berated myself for things I’ve written.

I wasn’t sure what the problem was. I had contact with my Muse. I was reading to stay inspired. I wrote. So what was the hangup?

Hmm…

Well, I found out I’m pregnant.

Ah. That explains so much, lol. For me it does! At least I knew why I was having trouble writing in general!

Pregnancy isn’t just a physical adjustment. For me, it’s a mental adjustment as well. I learned that the first time I was pregnant, almost 5 years ago. I forget things. A lot of things. And often. My brain feels like it’s running on a million different circuits. And I get tired. A lot. And often.

As my ability to remember stuff runs away, lol, I’m learning to “find and hit that perfect stride” being a pregnant writer. I organize my thoughts as they come. I write everything down so I remember them. It doesn’t matter if it’s a few sentences or paragraphs or pages. I write it down. I’ve adjusted my sleep schedule. I’ve adjusted my writing schedule.

And let me tell you, I feel more organized. I feel more…focused. I’ve found and hit that perfect stride that suits the changes happening in my life right now. It’ll probably change again but that’s okay. I’ve got this time to look back and draw from.

Life happens. It doesn’t stay the same no matter how much we want it to. But we adjust to the changes. We might moan and gripe, but we adjust anyway. We find and hit that perfect stride. We do it again and again whenever life throws a curve ball.

So whether it’s the first time, the eighth time, or the one millionth time, here’s to finding and hitting that perfect stride in life.

2 thoughts on “Writer’s Thoughts”

  1. Congrats on the new addition Mirriam…so exciting!

    I remember feeling like somewhat of a different person when I was pregnant each time too….forgetful, tired…but then I had days where I felt like super woman! lol

    Enjoy the ride and keep your pace!

Leave a Reply

