BG-Angel's Wings

Writer’s Thoughts

It’s official.

Angel’s Wings is complete. :) I’m sad and happy to say that. I can’t remember the last time I wrote a story where the characters meant so much to me.

Yet Caleb and Angelina have.

I suppose there’s a special place in every author’s heart for every character they create. After all, each hero and heroine aren’t just figments of our imagination. They do, at some point, become real people to us. Maybe it’s because of the situations they’re put in. Maybe it’s the circumstances under which they emerge a better person. Maybe it’s the way they love. Not just each other, mind you, but the way they love those they hold close to their hearts.

The ending to AW was heartbreaking to write. I didn’t want their story to end but I knew it was time. They met, faced and conquered their fears, overcame the bumps in their relationship, and emerged a strong, united couple meant to be together. It wasn’t just a love story for now but a love story forever.

I can say I accomplished my goal, because I did. They found love in each other’s arms, found a way to thrive despite past mistakes, came to understand that comparisons to past loves don’t matter one iota in their present relationship.

But I’m still sad to write “The End” to their story.

*sigh*

Edits will begin on AW in a few weeks. I want to take a breather, want to be able to read their story with a clear head and without feeling like I’m saying goodbye forever to something.

I don’t regret the way I wrote their story. I don’t regret the lack of sex scenes. *grins* Believe it or not, I questioned my writing and actually asked my Muse if I should’ve written out their first love scene. She said it was fine the way it was, that the reader knew where it was going. *chuckles* Made me feel better because (to be honest) I didn’t want to write out a sex scene in this book. I loved Caleb and Angelina’s connection, but felt it would be disrespectful to Angelina to write out such an intimate moment.

Weird, huh? Disrespect for a fictional person! Anyone care to explain that to me? ;)

Yet I’m happy with it the way it is. Hopefully, I’m happier when it’s edited and ready for publishing.

So while this blog is silent for a few weeks as I prep for edits (and work on something new, lol) I thank you, my faithful friends and readers for your patience as this story was written. You have no idea how much I appreciate that you take time out of your busy days to read what I post here, and you have no idea how much I appreciate that you are here  to begin with!

I hope your October goes splendidly well for you. Happy Halloween, don’t eat too much candy, stay away from unwrapped goodies, and enjoy the smell and fell of Autumn that’s all around you.

Happy reading!

4 thoughts on “Writer’s Thoughts”

  1. Congrats Mirriam! I still have to read the last chapter, but you know I LOVE this story.

    As for the sex scene…some books you just don’t have to share it…it can remain behind closed doors and it works perfectly. I so enjoyed this story and in no way did a sex scene affect my enjoyment of reading Angelina and Caleb’s story :)

    Congrats again…kick back and enjoy your accomplishment!!!

    1. :) Thank you so much, Christine, for not only your loving this story but for your constant encouragement as I wrote it.

      I hope enjoy the last chapter! I’m off to…plot a new story about a biker hero and an stretched-too-thin heroine.

  2. I agree, sorry it has to end, but it must. I really enjoyed AW.
    Sex… I can’t write it, I have a better imagination if I don’t read it. I know what’s going on. ;-) So does everyone else. I do know I need to be a little more graphic than “they went to bed”, LOL! But sometimes it does work. Depending…
    Enjoy a little R&R before you get your nose down in the keyboard!

    1. LOL I’m already plotting a short (it’s starting as a short, about 5000 to 7500 words is the goal) but the more I plot the more I realize it’ll probably be longer than that.

      Sex scenes are appropriate if the content calls for it, but it felt really, really wrong to try and write a sex scene between Caleb and Angelina.

      Thank you, Sharon, for reading along as this story developed. :) I’m truly glad you enjoyed it and I hope to find you here again!

Leave a Reply

